2005-11-02

from a bus in Poland

transcribed from a handwritten journal on 09.25.05

our first morning in Krakow and the drery mist is a contrast for how awake I feel. the cold blanket seems to be keeping the city asleep as we head out on a bus to Oswiecim or Aushwitz.

it's not something I've been looking foward to, but something I have wanted to see. I wasn't even planning to be coming south. according to my original plan, I should be in Vilnius, Lithuania. A threatening encounter with some Polish skinheads at Club Punkt in Gdansk makes me happier to be traveling with others, not alone.

the two weeks of building up north and the transition to mainstream hardcore tourist-track in a major metropolitan area is tougher than I expected.

it's been seven years since I did the backpack thing, and even then, Lucy and I isolated ourselves from the party scene and kept a rigorous museum/church siteseeing itinerary. as a more mature adult, and a more adventurous drinker, I fully expect different experiences and memories from this time around.

so, it's a couple of days in this ancient and atmospheric city, a few more in Prague with Jody, the Canardian (yes, that "r" is supposed to be there), and a final two nights in Helsinki alone.

I was pretty homesick (or just missing Chris) in Gdansk, but now I'm not fighting my remaining time here. Krakow is insanely beautiful, at the same time historic and modern, and the right choice for my travels.

I don't know the extent the impact of the Habitat experience will have on me. Sure, my perspective has changed. I know cheap=drinking is the way I want to visit other countries. I may not quit my job upon my return and volunteer full-time.

But, I'm even more aware of how fortunate I am it. Or have it. I don't want to take my life for granted or waste it whining about what I don't have or comparing myself to others.

This is my calling: to be happy being inside me.

earlier - later