2004-12-07

blogged down

Pardon my long quiet spell... I've actually been busy at work�working! Who knew? (Sure, I've been reading other people's blogs, mostly knitting, but job responsibilities have been pulling me away from my own diarrhea of the keyboard. Unless you count posting to my own knitting blog.)

It's funny. We've been discussing having a blog for the company I work for. A little late to the party, for sure. But we've had online journal elements a few times in the past.

Back in 2000, we had a week's worth of a daily diet journal. Our owner lived exclusively on the food products we produced. It was inspired by thespark.com's Fat Project. Subsequently, it inspired a friend's account of her battle with leukemia, The Weave Report.

This past summer, we did a road diary of the Mobile Marketing tour, a bio-diesel bus that traipsed up and down the East Coast doing mass sampling. Said program will be repeated next year.

Although it skeeves me out to have a personal voice representing the company, people do care about what happens within our walls. Employment Opportunities is one of the top-10 pages each month in our traffic reports. There's quite a myth about life here and our corporate culture. I guess folklore works, as we've gotten press for our wellness program and other services. Our climbing wall was erected years before dot-com's were even dreamed of.

I, handling all things online, would be responsible for the calendar, if not the voice and actual writing. I wonder if I'd be inspired to write more for myself then... it's my job after all.

Yes, this is cross-posted. Twice the content, half the work!

earlier - later