2004-11-03

to KMcC

As I was walking to the bathroom just now, I thought of you. Not in that kind of dirty way, silly.

I just wanted to thank you for all of your hard work. (fuck, I'm starting to cry writing this.) Your faith and belief in the political system is admirable and enviable.

Maybe I'm missing my activist roots, maybe I'm just depressed about Kerry, maybe I feel like shit because I'm not allowed to love people in over 20% of the country. Whatever.

Your voting parties, support of candidates and local issues and concern for the future give me hope. Seriously. You remind me of my ex who ran the LGBT outreach for Kerry's Pennsylvania campaign. I'm proud of him too, as they won their state, too.

In the sadness of this day, I hope you take some time for yourself. Yes, we need to mobilize and fight harder, blah, blah, blah, but you need to acknowledge you.

Get a massage.
Take a day off.
Buy yourself a present.

Know that you are loved and your work was not in vain. You rule. You did your part. You touched so many people, myself included and are responsible for a lot of the positive that came out of this.

Thank you.

earlier - later