2005-03-09

trust me, I'm a professional

once 5:15pm rolls around, this darn DL just clogs right up! why can't I add entries to my free account diary? (it's rhetorical, I don't need an answer.) let's just take it as an opportunity to rouse myself from hibernation.

I find it hilarious that I'm going to be a lead blogger on my company's soon-to-be-launched blog. we had a meeting today with the other regular authors to introduce them to the concept and talk about our goals with it.

it's odd trying to explain to people who've never read a blog. blogging is a cultural phenomenom, recognizable in the zeitgeist, but not understood by the masses. to make things worse, plugging marketing objectives next to a blog and explaining them to non-marketing folk seems ill-fitting, especially for our company that prides itself on being authentic and honest.

true, I think that companies blogging is a bastardization of the medium. but, heck, all media get exploited for business interests. however, people are genuinely interested in our company's going-on's. the traffic to our employment page is exponentially ten-fold larger than the number of positions we post. (is that mathmatically/grammatically-correct?)

furthermore, in my company's defense, we've been blogging in one form or another all along. it's just the format of how we're telling the story that will fit into the traditionally-recognized column o'text we all know and love of the "b" to the "l" to the "og."

nowadays, reading blogs is about research and inspiration, not procrastination. perhaps my own writing will be inspired, beyond my knitting updates or more mundane and sporadic freebie DL account.

coming soon to a browswer near you... more about me.

earlier - later